U.S. to end sanction exemptions on Iranian oil for 5 nations, including China

The U.S. is ending exemptions from sanctions for countries that import Iranian oil, including China, Japan, South Korea, India and Turkey, according to the White House. The move comes as the Trump administration toughens penalties on Iran by trying to choke off revenue the country makes from oil sales.

To read more:

»»» Subscribe to CBC News to watch more videos:

Connect with CBC News Online:

For breaking news, video, audio and in-depth coverage:
Find CBC News on Facebook:
Follow CBC News on Twitter:
For breaking news on Twitter:
Follow CBC News on Instagram:

Download the CBC News app for iOS:
Download the CBC News app for Android:

For more than 75 years, CBC News has been the source Canadians turn to, to keep them informed about their communities, their country and their world. Through regional and national programming on multiple platforms, including CBC Television, CBC News Network, CBC Radio,, mobile and on-demand, CBC News and its internationally recognized team of award-winning journalists deliver the breaking stories, the issues, the analyses and the personalities that matter to Canadians.

Leave a Comment